Struggles

I have been spending a lot of time in the kitchen, partly because I love it and its a stress reliever, and partly because the only way to really be successful on this Whole 30 is to be prepared.

Some recipes I have tried and liked lately are:

Pumpkin hummus (I made the ras el hanout –its pretty good and I will use it to season chicken in the crock pot)..I’ve been eating this with carrots and I really like it.

Spaghetti Squash Crusted Quiche (I used taco meat I had in my freezer and made a double batch of this to have “egg muffins” for quick breakfasts)

Coffee Creamer I have made the Almond Joy and Pumpkin spice. Both are delicious. Going to try the cinnamon streusel next. Yummy.

So although I have truly enjoyed these recipes, I am not going to lie. Today was hard. At around 2:00 I wanted to eat everything in sight. I felt very “snack-ish” when I got home. Then I got crabby. And I’m still crabby. I don’t know if its all part of the process of the challenge, but I’m struggling. I had the first thought of quitting today.  I am struggling with the grey areas of the rules.  They say limit your fruits and “treats” and I have been eating a lot of apples and drinking a lot of coffee + paleo creamer.  Am I going overboard on these? I guess it could be worse, I could be eating lots of snicker bars and drinking pepsi. I am not eating any dairy, legumes, wheat, or processed food, so I will chalk that up for a win.

I do feel like I need to get some type of exercise in tomorrow, might change my attitude toward things.

We are 1/3 of the way through. I know I can do this, I’ve done it before. And I know I’ll feel amazing on the other side.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Struggles

  1. Its crazy how our “feelings” (internally and mentally) have been right on track with each other…I sum it up as this wave- first, exhausted, no energy, but wasn’t struggling with food choices/snacks/treats (approx day1-4); then feeling internally pretty well, and overall pretty good about my accomplishments (approx day 4-6/7ish). THEN came the cravings..wanting to eat everything I saw, never being fulfilled, and craving sweets like I was an addict (and I didn’t think I ate that much sweets before!), and of coarse it seemed like the homemade bars, cookies, cakes, were EVERYWHERE tantalizing me. It was tough (approx day 7/8-11). Now on day 13 and feeling better. Loosing a little of the pudgy “love handles” and cravings for sweets and snacking have gotten a little better…but are still there…I have discovered black coffee, diluted so not so strong, seems to be my savior.
    New recipe: Mahi Mahi with mango-cilantro citrus relish:
    -dice up (fairly small) 1 mango, 1/2 small red & yellow pepper, handful cherry tomatoes, couple green onions (white and green firm parts), and a nice bunch of fresh cilantro. Add juice of 1 lime. Mix well, refrigerate for flavors to blend (at least 45 min). Stir in diced avocado right before serving and a little sea salt.

    – Will be enough to cover 3-4 fish filets (depending how ‘covered’ you want them (fish:relish ratio preference).

    I used Mahi Mahi, baked at 350 for approx 12 mins (until flakes easily with fork). Will go well with any white flakey fish I presume. Delish!! (but i am a cilantro NUT!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

