My 2014 Intentions

Intentions for 2014

SDC11637

All of my intentions for the year 2014 are about being mindful. I want to be more present in the current moment,  being aware of my body and others.

  1. Be mindful of my mind.
  2. Be mindful of my body.
  3. Be mindful of how I spend my time.
  4. Be mindful of my relationships.

 

MIND:

This one is very important to me. I have always loved to learn. I have a giant list of books I want to read and I would love to go back to school (for design? or organization?). I intend to spend a little time each day reading something, whether for leisure or learning.  I read a lot of blogs, but I will be more mindful of the blogs I read, to make sure they are expanding my mind.  I particularly like the blog Jesslively.com.  She lives a life with intention, and encourages others to do the same (she’s made a business out of it!).  She is very inspiring.

My mood and emotions are directly related to my thoughts going through my mind.  I will practice meditation (some call this prayer—to each his own). I will be more aware of my moods and feelings, and if I feel any negative, I will try to change those thoughts or feelings to positive.  I will seek to understand why I have these moods or feelings and work through them.  I want to be a genuinely happy, content person.

I will journal more.  It helps me process.  In a way this blog is my journal. Whether I write a blog post or a private journal entry, writing about stuff helps me sort through it. It always has, but I have not taken the time to do it in the past. Or I don’t do it because I feel silly.  Well, no longer. I’m going to put it out there to get it off my chest.

 

BODY:

Body image is something I have struggled with for a while. I have written about my battle with this here. I do think it comes with being a woman. We are so hard on ourselves and we are our worst critic. For some reason, everybody else always looks cuter or prettier than I do in my eyes.  But I have to remind myself that most women think like this, and they are probably thinking the same about me. I will be more self confident, and I intend to instill this confidence in the women around me.

I have been eating a semi “paleo” diet and when I stick to it, it makes me feel better. I don’t want to have strict rules about what I can and cannot eat. I just want to make healthy choices and eat food that tastes good and fuels my body, allowing it to function the best it can.  I would like to decrease my sugar intake. I love sweets, and I eat sugar to the excess. I have been working on this and will continue to.

I love yoga.  I have written about how important it has been in my life here.  I will continue to do yoga.  It helps me with my mind-body connection.  I will listen to my body and give it the movement and exercise it needs.  No more running 6 miles or lifting heavy weights.  Weight training is important, but using body weight resistance is plenty.  I intend to practice more yoga, and take a time out several times a week for a walk (preferably outside).

3.  MY TIME

This is a hard one for me. I am 100% extrovert and a people pleaser.  The more engagements  I have on my social calendar, the better, right?!? Not really. I intend to say, “No” to invitations or propositions that don’t seem to fit into my life or schedule, or that I just don’t have time for.  I will be more accepting of the fact that I don’t have time to do it all.  I have to choose the important things, and spend time doing those things to the best of my ability.  Which leads me to my last one,

 

4.  MY RELATIONSHIPS

I am married now. It hasn’t hit me really, but so far, I like it. I intend to be conscious of my marriage and invest in our relationship.  I will carve out time in our hectic, crazy lives to spend time just the 2 of us. We are always so much better off after a little alone time.

I feel like after 4 years here in Clear Lake, I have found a few girlfriends.  It took me that long. I miss my girlfriends from high school, college, and graduate school. They know me. And still like me. But I feel like the connections I am making now are getting deeper. And my friends here are getting to know me better, and I them. Its important to have friends that get you. I will cherish the connections I have made and plan to deepen them.

I will make time for my family.  I live in Clear Lake IA because my family lead me here. I love my family, they are the most important thing in my life.  As I grow older and learn about myself, I am understanding more and more how my family has shaped the person that I am. I intend to take time for my family relationships and spend quality time with those I love.

I have big intentions for the new year. Its going to be a good one.

Leave a Reply

